Home > News > Barack Obama Talks Student Loans with a Real Live Student!

Barack Obama Talks Student Loans with a Real Live Student!

There is an excellent video clip on YouTube that shows Obama talking to a Wayne Community College student and her financial officer about her loan debt.  Apparently, this is from this past June, but I didn’t come across it until today (thanks to Financial Aid Finder), and I thought it was worth posting. 

At one point during the clip, the student (Marilyn Pace, who is studying to be a dental hygienest) breaks down in tears, and Obama comforts her.  There isn’t really anything about substantive policy here, but I do think it bodes well for Obama that he has reached out to real people in real need and seems to understand that loans aren’t always the answer.

  1. November 20, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    Hey, thanks for the mention of the Financial Aid Finder! Glad you liked the video — I agree with you that it bodes well 🙂

  2. Sharon Sanders
    February 9, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    my pay check is being garnished for student loans. Is there any releif for us duirng this hard economic time. I have not been able to find a job that would pay anything for the degrees that I have. The degrees are worthless if you can’t get work to pay for them.

    I work in the Kansas City Missouri School District. I work for the Exceptional Education Department. I don’t make the kind of money that they are saying that I owe.

    I am 59 years of age. I went to school late in life and this is what I am faced with. I will not be able to retire, draw social security at this rate.

    Is there any help?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

