Home > News, Stories > A Few Student Loan Stories

A Few Student Loan Stories

I found this interesting article about Occupy Albany that, among other things, covers a few protestors who are concerned about student loans.  From the article:

Jasmine Shea spoke about the frustration of having studied and worked hard only to be left struggling to survive.

 “I’m a worker. I’m 26. I went to school. I’m still paying off my student loans. I got a job in radio broadcasting. That’s what my career was. Due to the economy, the station that I was at went under and they changed their format. So I had to find a minimum wage job working at Dunkin Donuts. I finally found a part-time job working as a waitress to try to pay off my medical bills. I’m here because I make so little that if they keep on taxing me more I won’t be able to survive. I think it’s time that the rich and the corporations had to start paying their fair share of taxes. Because if I’m living off ramen noodles and dollar menus what else am I going to live off of if you’re going to take more money from me? It’s hard struggling.”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

